What is NPI?
A Native Product Integration (NPI) campaign is focused on displaying a targeted partner message on very specific pages on the site.
The message typically appears before the article starts and looks more or less like this:
The metrics we track are relatively simple – the number of impressions the message gets, and the number of clicks.
We typically target an NPI campaign as accurately as possible – which usually leads to low impression volume and very good CTRs.
Often, a campaign will target a single, specific tag on the site as that will be the only highly relevant tag for that particular product/service.
For example, a product that’s focused on:
- Converting documents to PDF will naturally target our PDF tag
- Deployment with Docker will target our Docker category and Kubernetes tag
- DevSecOps will target the intersection of our DevOps and Security categories
The results of an NPI campaign will vary based on a number of factors:
- how specific is the targeting
- how much A/B testing we’ve done with the message
- how well the product resonates with the Baeldung audience
A typical result for a small campaign, targeting a single, small tag with, for example, ~60K impressions/month and a CTR of ~0.8% – will result in a delivery of ~500 clicks/month.
Here are the example results of our Partners’ NPI campaigns:
Sample Campaign and Report
Finally, here’s a quick example, let’s look at a recent Kubernetes-focused campaign.
This was a small and targeted campaign, only focused on our Kubernetes content. Because of this precise targeting, we had a limited number of impressions available, so we wanted to run the campaign for a few months.
As a quick overview:
- we delivered 100K impressions
- and 600 clicks
Here’s what a detailed look at the results looks like.
Notice we ran two small campaigns there, for tihs partner – one with mid-level targeting and one a higher level of targeting.
The budget depends on a single factor – the traffic of the article where we’re adding the section. More concretely, the CPM varies from $1.1 to $1.4.
So, for example, let’s say we need to run a 6-month campaign for a security testing product.
We’ll focus the campaign on the intersection of the Testing and Security audiences; because that targeting is quite highly targeted, it’s also relatively small.
Within this example, we may use a CPM of ~$1.3 on the campaign and deliver about ~200 clicks/month, resulting in a budget of $1,500 for our 6-month campaign.